Voting booths image

Lewis County elections director Karen Long said that the ballot for the May 18th election will include a yes/no vote on the $445,000 Nezperce Joint School District 302 levy. A few Lewis County voters, who live within the Cottonwood or Orofino school district boundaries, will also have a levy vote. The Kamiah school district is not running a levy this year since they passed a two-year levy last year. Two of the five Prairie River Library District seats are up for election this year for six-year terms.

Jan Grueter of Winchester is the only person to file for the seat that she currently holds. The term for trustee Leonard Van Dyke of Genesee will expire 10 days after the May 18th date, at which point the board can declare a vacancy, according to Lisa Puckett, Prairie River Library system director. “We have a friendly, supportive board,” Puckett said. “We are hoping to have someone step up.”

Various highway districts (Central, Evergreen, Kamiah, North, and Prairie) in Lewis County are also scheduled for election in May, but no contest is needed since only one person filed to run for each of the positions, according to Long.

For the Highway District, Mike Fischer and Dean Roach will advance to new four-year terms. In the Nezperce area, Greg Branson and Pat Barnett will continue on the Prairie Highway District with new four-year terms and Zak Ralston filed for one of two seats on the North Highway District, with no filers for the 2nd open seat.

The group proposing the formation of the Valley United Ambulance District “ran out of time,” according to Long. They did not complete the required steps prior to the filing date. According to Long, their next opportunity will be to try to get on the November ballot.